top of page

The Chop House

Restaurant: The Chop House. Location: 1 Harbour Front Walk, #01-161/162 Vivocity, Singapore 098585. Tel: +65 6376 9262 Fax: +65 6376 9281

Hi ChoxChe-ers! I am back with another post! This time, I am sharing about my review on the food I have eaten. First thing first, I am totally not a food expert, but I enjoy eating and trying out food everywhere I go; be it in restaurants, cafes or street food. Of course my review is subjective; though I try to keep it as objective as possible; and I do have preferences which I am pretty sure ChoxChe-ers will soon know if you follow my blog long enough (not now, but in the future). So, this time I am reviewing the food I have tried in The Chop House at Vivo City, Singapore. I went there with a friend and my dad. Though there were only three of us, we ordered four dishes, as my father was famished LOL. So, let’s just get started on the review!


1. USDA prime rib-eye (S$39.00): I ordered this in medium, though the rib-eye is said to be best eaten medium rare. It was served with watercress, grilled tomato and a choice of bearnaise, red wine or black peppercorn sauce; of which I chose red wine sauce. Upon the first cut, I could see the juicy explosion on the plate and the pinkish medium-cooked meat spreading uniformly underneath the brownish outer layer meat. There weren’t any marbling streaks in between the lean part of the meat. Hence, I felt that this steak offered a healthier choice, though some would prefer well-marbled beef for its richer fatty flavor; I thought this was flavorful enough. The meat was succulent and with a savory red wine sauce, this rib-eye was one of the undoubtedly finger-licking and belly-filling steaks I have had (ChoxChe’s rank of 9/10).

USDA Prime Rib Eye
medium-cooked rib eye

2. New Zealand sirloin (S$29.00): My friend picked the sirloin in medium-rare with the same red wine sauce. Like the rib-eye steak, it was garnished with a handful of watercress vegetable and half-cut grilled tomatoes. The meat was flavorful and compared to the rib-eye, it was thinner and had more beefy flavor. However, the meat texture was too chewy; therefore kind of hard to swallow in; and the juiciness was lesser than what we had expected for a medium-rare (ChoxChe’s rank of 8.5/10).


New Zealand Sirloin
medium-rare sirloin

3. Crispy skin salmon (S$28.00): This was my dad’s. The fish skin was deliciously crusty and the fish meat was lusciously tender, albeit a plain one. Yet, the bland taste was made zesty after we squeezed a lemon on top of it. On the contrary to the plain roasted tomatoes served aside for our steaks, the truss tomatoes served along this dish were very sweet, fresh and juicy. Furthermore, the side potatoes were excellently roasted and seasoned with salt and black pepper and the asparagus was crunchy and fresh. With the rich, buttery and tangy French hollandaise sauce, it was suffice to say that the plain taste of the salmon didn’t really bother us anymore (ChoxChe’s rank of 8/10).

Crispy skin salmon

4. Garlic prawns (S$29.00): This was also my dad’s pick. Btw, the name might trip you if you don't read the details carefully as this dish warranted not only the sauteed garlic prawns, but it also comes with the infamous Indian saffron rice. As we all know, saffron is the most expensive spice in the world, hence we were very much looking forward to have our tries on this one. As expected, the saffron rice was aromatic and superb. It was so rich in flavor with all the saltiness, spiciness, bitterness and sweetness evenly mixed and vividly tasted in one spoon. On top of that, the prawns were also so soft, juicy, fleshy, garlicky and tasty (the chilli tomatoes sauce in which the prawns were sauteed in was amazing!). Also, this dish was generously embezzled with large amount of parsley that boosted its aromatic flavor (ChoxChe’s rank of 10/10).

Ambience level: 10/10 (AC, free Wi-Fi, friendly waiters)

ChoxChe’s recommendation: 10/10.

Total Expense:

USA Prime rib eye: S$39.00

New Zealand Sirloin: S$29.00

Crispy skin salmon: S$28.00

Garlic prawns: S$28.00

Sub Total: S$124

10% Service Charge: S$12.40

7% GST: S$9.55

Total: S$145.95

 

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page